Проф. Яаков Нагель

Бригадный генерал запаса

Профессор Яаков Нагель на данный момент является приглашенным профессором на факультете аэродинамической инженерии в хайфском Технионе, а также приглашенным сотрудником Фонда защиты демократий.


Профессор Нагель возглавляет Центр оборонной науки и технологии. Он являлся главой Центра национальной безопасности и советником главы правительства в области национальной безопасности (2016-2017). Ранее он возглавлял Отдел стратегической и оборонной политики в Центре национальной безопасности (с мая 2011 года).

 

В этот период он вел переговоры с США о новом Меморандуме о взаимопонимании, заключив 10-летнее соглашение на сумму в 38 миллиардов долларов. Он также возглавлял команду израильских экспертов, работавших со сверхдержавами в ходе переговоров с Ираном по поводу иранской атомной программы.


Нагель занимал различные должности в Департаменте оборонных исследований Министерства обороны Израиля. Он был заместителем начальника департамента по научным вопросам (2001-2011) и действующим главой отдела военных исследований (2002-2004). В этот период он возглавлял так называемую «Комиссию Нагеля», рекомендовавшую армии принять на вооружение систему «Железный купол».


До этого Нагель в течение 16 лет служил техническим экспертом в «Подразделении 8200» - элитном израильском подразделении радиоэлектронной разведки.

 
Образование: M.Sc. в области промышленной инженерии и менеджмента (Технион) и M.B.A. (Тель-авивский университет) (оба с отличием).

PROF. JACOB NAGEL

BRIGADIER GENERAL (RES.)

BG (Res.) Prof. Jacob Nagel is currently a visiting professor at Aerospace Engineering Faculty in the Technion, Haifa and a visiting fellow with the foundation for Defense of Democracies.

Professor Nagel is heading the CSST (Center for Security science and Technology).

He previously served as the Head of the National Security Council (NSC) and as the (A) PM National Security Advisor (2016 – 2017). Prior to that, he was the Head of the Strategic and Defense Policy Directorate at the NSC (since May 2011).

During that period, he led the negotiations with US on the new MOU and signed this 10-year agreement worth 38B$. He also led the Israeli experts team, working with the superpowers teams towards the negotiations with Iran on the JCPOA (Iran’s nuclear program).

Nagel served in various positions at the Ministry of Defense - Directorate of Defense Research & Development ( MOD DDR&D ). He was the DDR&D Scientific Deputy (2001 – 2011) and the Acting Head of the military R&D (2002-2004). During this period, he led the "Nagel committee" that recommended Iron Dome as Israel BMD short range system.

Prior to DDR&D, Nagel served as a technical expert at the Israel Sigint National Unit (ISNU-8200) for 16 years.

He holds M.Sc. in Industrial Engineering and Management from the Technion, the Israel Institute of Technology, and MBA (Information Systems) from Tel Aviv University, both of them cum laude.

© 2020 by SGF Fund. Designed by Wixer, For Questions / Contact us at smartgen@smartgenisrael.com